22 Comments
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

Believing that God has my best interest in mind no matter what the outer evidence might point to. Believing that He has my back no matter what. Believing that everything is for my highest good and the highest good of all involved. Believing that nothing is at random but that "all events, past, present and to come, are gently planned by One Whose only purpose is my good" (ACIM).

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

I hold to the Biblical definition that faith is believing in that which is unseen and hoping for that which has not yet happened and which may not happen even in my lifetime. It is trusting in God when I cannot even make sense of the way or path or direction He is taking me along.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

Faith, to me, is trust, specifically in the promises God makes to us in Scripture. He will work all things to the good of those who love him and are called according to his purpose. Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. It's God's word, and it's the most reliable way we can know him in this life. Trusting in that defines faith for me.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

It means that the world around us works exactly as it should and its events will send me to places and people that are the best for me.

You can call it world, universe, god, God, creation of gods, creation of God, fate, or whatever. I know i can trust it, even if at the moment it seems very negative. I know iʼm a part of it, and that itʼs not all about me. I know i can make it infectious, showing this truth to anyone around me.

Expand full comment

What does faith - in the religious sense - mean to you? I can't distinguish faith from anything other than hope and trust in that something far greater than anything I can ever imagine created this experience I am experiencing. Religious or not ... the trinity that exists in every molecular cell in my body carries with it, faith, hope and trust! It is that continuum that I cannot consciouslly grasp, which makes no distinction at even the cellular level of my physical existence and cannot separate it self from any part of my conscious existence. Faith is life! There is no other term, no matter how atheist you may feel. Hope is faith incarnate, trust is the only thing that exists in the fold of all that exist .... the three words cannot be separated from each other to mean anything other than LIFE ... no matter the order in which they come! And Death ... well that is the colmination of faith, hope and trust to go beyond what I cannot possibly imagine.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

That the ineffable, that we call god, is always around us and in us, guiding us to be our best selves. Guiding us to become the best versions of ourselves, despite our failings. Guiding us to be compassionate and loving in all that we do. Compassionate to other humans, animals and the earth itself.

To assist in the reduction of suffering here on earth so that the kingdom of god can indeed appear to all of mankind.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

When I doubt that there is a God, when I wonder how God could allow bad things to happen to good people, I look back at how God has worked in my life in the past. That gives me faith to believe God is not absent now, just silent. And I can trust that God is all-powerful and all-knowing, that God loves me, and that God is worthy of my trust, praise and worship. I see those who have no faith, and they flounder when adversity occurs. My faith in God keeps me rooted to a foundation of trust in a Higher Power who has it all together. That's comforting!

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

Faith means believing that God knows my thoughts, intentions and worries - and is waiting until I trust in Him to allow me to see his plan on any given situation. Faith means believing that I’m not in control — that ultimately He is. Faith means believing that the Holy Spirit can work wonders, and is waiting to be called upon.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2020Liked by Jonas Ellison

Faith does not abide by the rules/theology. Faith is unseen, mysterious. Faith is backward-looking, hope is forward-looking, love is present-looking.

Expand full comment

Faith is believing when there is no logical reason to believe.

Expand full comment

Like Ken's comment... faith in a *religious* sense does not mean much to me. Faith in a spiritual sense feels like ... being open to the unfolding discoveries of life connected and connecting, leading my/our awareness to grow and evolve.

Expand full comment